Asia-Pacific Photo Contest: Australia Wins Bronze

Congratulations to Ryan Beeby, Victoria, who has been awarded a bronze prize in the 12th Asia-Pacific Region Scout Photo Contest!

Australian Ryan Beeby's Bronze Prize winning photo. Domenican Republic, 2013

Australian Ryan Beeby’s Bronze Prize winning photo. Domenican Republic, 2013

Ryan reveals to International News that he didn’t actually take the prize-winning snap, “I put my basic compact camera in the hands of a parent while leading games with Group 123 in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, and the photo turned out great!

“I was visiting a Rover I met in 2011 when I was studying in San Diego, and she was staff at the Boy Scouts of America’s Mataguay Scout Ranch.

See the other winning entries in the gallery:

Ryan also had a second photo in contention for a prize:

The Scout Experience: Tijuana, Mexico, 2013

The Scout Experience: Tijuana, Mexico, 2013

“It was taken early on in the same trip when I visited the US-AID funded, “The Scout Experience” project in Tijuana, BC, Mexico. It’s lead by a very close friend of mine who together with her husband are advisers to the “Clans”, or Crews as we would call them in Australia, in the area. I met them on the San Diego side of the border back in 2011 and they instantly invited me to all of the Rover events in Tijuana and surrounds. They made me feel amazingly at home like nothing else, and I remain a full knight and “God-father” of the “Clan de Clans de Baja California”, or ‘All Crews in Baja’.

You can read more about their project in TijuanaHave a great Scouting photo?  Share it with us!

Leave a comment